Need help - function output to form1

General help: new users, installing the Ecere SDK, using the IDE to compile and run applications.
richard567

Need help - function output to form1

Post by richard567 »

You can read my introduction in the General section. My problem may be a mix of C and eC and the fact that I am an amateur. Please excuse me if I get some programming terminology wrong or maybe get beyond the scope of this forum.

Brief program description: Intent is to have a continually refreshing/looping program which calculates the real-time location of the sun in azimuth and altitude based on user input location, etc. and continually updating system clock time and date. Input 10 data fields plus continuously updated clock date/time. Output sun azimuth/altitude and other related data in real-time continuously updated. There is a function which calls a .c and .h file which are linked using #include. These contain the intense calculations.

I have the form set up for input/output. The function calling the .c and .h files also compiles fine. I have a clock running on the form but had to use surface.WriteTextf to get it to display. I couldn't get it into a label. Currently the calling function has fixed input within the function. The function code is located below and outside of the class Form1 : Window.

My first problem is getting the output from that calling function to display on my form so I can test it against known output. All output is believed numeric. My original intent was to get the numeric data to display in a label. Compiler Warning indicates there may be a mix of output types from the calling function. Any thoughts/help? Here are some code snippets.

Beginning of calling function:

Code: Select all

int Main1 (int argc, char *argv[])
//double Main1 (double argc, char *argv[])
{
    spa_data spa;  //declare the SPA structure
    int result;
    double min, sec; // was float rather than double

//enter required input values into SPA structure