New design of the website

Forum for talking about anything else Ecere/eC related.
nowind_lee

New design of the website

Post by nowind_lee »

I think the www.ecere.com's frontpage needs to be improved, it's complex and not easy for new visitors to find the information they need. And ... it looks like it's unmaintained.

So my suggest we should improve the front page, it should be simpler and clearer. I have designed a simple prototype, please see the picture below:

I'm not very good at web page designing, but I would help if you ask.
jerome
Site Admin

Re: New design of the website

Post by jerome »

nowind_lee,

I love our current front page, and I'm very attached to it, we designed/worked quite hard to get it done that way :P

But I must admit you're right, and I like how your design gets straight to the point.

Help is always appreciated. We're planning website improvements anyways.

The key things we want to improve on the website:

- Redo the 'Learn More' section (technical overview), including a straightforward introduction to what the eC language is like and why you might want to learn and use eC
- Redo the Action Gallery ( demos / screenshots ) and Applications

We could fit in some overhaul of the front page as well as part of that.

I really liked hour reflective floor layout and a Big Download button though, do you think we can keep that? And our new mascot Oliver the Sea Otter :D

-Jerome
nowind_lee

Post by nowind_lee »

Oliver should be kept of course, but the "big download button"...

I think I won't download it before I see some screenshots or try some sample applications. Because downloading will cost me:

1. download it
2. install it
3. try it ... But can do nothing before I learning it.

I think the visitors would like to know:

1. What kinds of applications can Ecere build? ( Screenshorts and sample applications )
2. What's the language looks like? ( Some sample code with syntax highlight )